Winners of the 2023 contest were announced during an online ceremony on Saturday, May 6. The list of winners, with their schools and cities, is linked below, with judge’s comments included.

Since 2010, Youth Journalism International’s annual contest has showcased some of the best teen journalism in the world.

New this year, YJI and the First Amendment Museum joined forces to create a First Amendment Award for teen journalists and their teachers.

The new First Amendment Award honors an individual student journalist, journalism educator, or group with a demonstrated commitment to using their First Amendment freedoms to affect positive change in their communities.

Now in its 14th year, YJI’s competition recognizes stellar work by young writers, photographers, and artists worldwide in dozens of categories. It is open to any teen, anywhere, for work published or broadcast in English in the previous calendar year.

“We’re thrilled to partner with the wonderful First Amendment Museum on this new award,” said Steve Collins, board president at Youth Journalism International.

“With this new award, the First Amendment Museum hopes to engage with a new generation of journalists who are informed, active, and engaged in their communities,” said Christian Cotz, chief executive officer of the First Amendment Museum.

Entries in the First Amendment category can be a single article, broadcast, or a series published or released in the 2022 calendar year. It can also be an action taken to defend or exercise youth press freedom during that year. Entries should include a brief statement explaining the circumstances and/or context of the cited action.

“While the First Amendment is part of the Constitution of the United States, this is a global category that we hope will encourage those who push for freedom of speech and of the press throughout the world,” said Jackie Majerus, executive director at Youth Journalism International.

The winner of the new award will receive a beautiful crystal trophy. Finalists will receive custom award certificates.

The deadline to enter the contest was midnight, Friday, Feb. 17.

Additional contest categories that merit crystal trophies for winners are: Student Journalist of the Year, Journalism Educator of the Year, Courage in Journalism, the Frank Keegan Award for News, and the Jacinta Marie Bunnell Award for Commentary.

Winners of other categories, including writing or broadcast work in news, sports, feature stories, reviews, photography, cartoons, and illustrations, receive custom award certificates.

All entries are evaluated by a global panel of more than two dozen dedicated judges, including journalists, teachers and media experts.

Here are the rules


2023 contest winners

2022 contest winners

2021 contest winners

2020 contest winners

2019 contest winners

2018 contest winners

2017 contest winners

2016 contest winners

2015 contest winners

2014 contest winners

2013 contest winners

2012 contest winners

2011 contest winners

2010 contest winners

Take a look at where all of the trophy winners have hailed from since the contest began: