Contest Notices

YJI Delivers Trophies to Contest Winners

At Malvern Preparatory School in Malvern, Penn. last week. From left, YJI board President Steve Collins; Justice Bennett, YJI's 2016 Student Journalist of the Year, Malvern journalism teacher Kate Plows, YJI Executive Director Jackie Majerus and YJI board member and alum Jennifer Rajotte.

It’s a great feeling to recognize excellent student work – but it’s really thrilling to do it in person.

Three YJI leaders got the chance to do just that last week when they made trophy presentations to Justice Bennett, named the 2016 Student Journalist of the Year, and to the staff and founders of
The Contour, a newspaper at The Lawrenceville School. The Contour staff won the 2016 Courage in Journalism award in YJI’s Excellence in Journalism contest.

Staff of The Contour of The Lawrenceville School with YJI founders. Back row, from left: Lawrenceville Headmaster Steve Murray, students Gianluca Minardi and Bradford Lin, and  faculty advisor Erik Chaput. Middle row, from left: students Anoushka Kiyawat, Yina Anyachebelu, Julia Nguyen and Ainara Moreno Meija. Front row, Steve Collins, students Allison Huang and Scott Newman and Jackie Majerus.

Justice collected his prize in front of staff members of The Blackfriar Chronicle at Malvern Preparatory School in Pennsylvania, where he is a graduating senior. Other Malvern students who won awards also were recognized in the special ceremony.

Kate Plows, an energetic and encouraging journalism teacher, gathered a couple of dozen young men and Justice’s mom into the newsroom, where the magic happens at Malvern.

Justice Bennett and Jennifer Rajotte at Malvern.

After brief introductions, YJI board President Steve Collins and Executive Director Jackie
Majerus, presented award certificates and YJI mementos to the students.

Then came the moment that brought us all together: Jennifer Rajotte, a YJI board member and an alum in Philadelphia, handed Justice his heavy crystal trophy. His classmates gave
him a standing ovation.
Justice immediately told his fellow students that they shared in the honor, that they had done it together. We left Malvern with a warm feeling about all of them – and several
glorious handmade ceramic YJI mugs from Ms. Plows, whose skills are apparently
Then Collins and Majerus headed on to Lawrenceville, New Jersey and a beautiful school that looks like a small New England college.
Students from The Lawrenceville School who founded and ran The Contour won this year’s award for Courage in Journalism. YJI recognized them for their efforts to bulldoze through the obstacles that stand in the way of every new idea and for making their internationally-focused newspaper come to life. They used their voices to inform their community as well as the greater world about events in faraway lands that are all too easily ignored.

In Lawrenceville’s beautiful rotunda, the two YJI co-founders happily presented a crystal trophy to the three managing editors who started the publication: Allison Huang, Scott Newman and Haruka Noishiki.

Journalism teacher Kate Plows invited YJI co-founder Steve Collins to speak with students about his recent decision to resign a reporting job on ethical grounds, so after the awards presentation, he did that and took their questions.

Their parents honored them – and us – by traveling to Lawrenceville to be there. So did Headmaster Steve Murray, a warmhearted and kind man. Not only did he change his schedule to be there for his students, but he was the first to post about their prize on Instagram.

Proud Lawrenceville staff, including Erik Chaput, The Contour’s faculty advisor, joined in to support the students.

Students Allison Huang, Scott Newman, Bradford Lin and Gianluca Minardi gave YJI visitors a campus tour at The Lawrenceville School. (YJI)

Afterward, Allison,
Scott and two other Contour editors,
Bradford Lin and Gianluca Minardi, took their YJI visitors on a fun,
interesting tour of Lawrenceville. Engaging hosts, there were rightfully proud
of their school and eager to show it off.

Francisco Martinez of the Alaskan Teen Media Institute won the Frank Keegan “Take No Prisoners” Award for News, a top honor in the YJI Excellence in Journalism Contest, for a report he did on the drug called spice. (Photo courtesy of Alaska Teen Media)

Presenting trophies and getting to know students and staff at both Malvern Prep and The Lawrenceville School left such a great impression that YJI’s leaders are eager to return – and to make more visits at other schools, too.

David Flanary, a teacher at Sevier Middle School in Kingsport, Tenn., is YJI’s 2016 Journalism Educator of the Year. (IKingsport Schools photo)

Typically, YJI sends its trophies via the U.S. mail, but this time, with two winners not far apart nor far away, a road trip seemed in order. As much as YJI leaders would have loved to keep driving and deliver the other three trophies in person, sadly, it wasn’t practical. The U.S. Postal Service, however, made those deliveries just fine.
In Kingsport, Tennessee, teacher David Flanary won the Journalism Educator of the Year award.
In Houston, Texas, Eli Winter won the Jacinta Marie Bunnell Award for Commentary and in Anchorage,
Alaska, Francisco Martinez won the Frank Keegan “Take No Prisoners” Award for News.

Part of YJI’s mission is to promote and defend a free youth press, and the annual Excellence in Journalism contest does just that, by recognizing terrific work by students around the world, whether they’re reporting for YJI or another publication.

While those trophies in Alaska, Texas and Tennessee couldn’t be delivered in person, there’s no doubt that the dedicated students and teachers there just as awesome as those who welcomed YJI to their schools last week. Here’s hoping the future offers a chance for YJI to one day make those journeys, too.

Eli Winter, a high school senior in Houston, Texas, won the 2016 Jacinta Marie Bunnell Award for Commentary. (YJI)

Your tax-deductible contribution helps students
supported by this organization.Thank you for being generous!